Home > What's New at IFMA? > IFMA Shines a Spotlight on Excellence at its 2022 Awards Ceremony in Nashville, TN, USA

IFMA Shines a Spotlight on Excellence at its 2022 Awards Ceremony in Nashville, TN, USA

Sep 30, 2022

IFMA’s Awards of Excellence and the IFMA Foundation’s Trustees Award Recipients Recognized at IFMA’s World Workplace

On the final day of IFMA’s World Workplace® Conference and Expo in Nashville, Tennessee, USA, IFMA announced the recipients of its 2022 Awards of Excellence, which honor the stand-out achievements of association members, components and industry partners.

Preceded by a seated luncheon, the awards ceremony was emceed by past IFMA Board Chair (2009-10) Thomas L. Mitchell, Jr., CFM, IFMA Fellow, with current IFMA Board Chair Laurie A. Gilmer, P.E., CFM, FMP, SFP, LEED AP congratulating recipients on stage. Awards of Excellence winners were recognized in 13 categories. Those honored with the IFMA Foundation’s Board of Trustees Awards were announced and congratulated by foundation Chair Irene Thomas Johnson, CFM.

“Today, we recognize those who are breaking new ground for our industry. We recognize the individuals and teams who are bringing even greater value to our association. We recognize the companies equipping FM with innovations that will lead us into the future,” said Mitchell.

Awards of Excellence nominees are scored individually across a variety of category-specific criteria by judging panels comprised of industry experts. In addition to recognizing exceptional contributions to the association by individual members and component groups (chapters, councils and communities), IFMA honors outstanding examples of facility management (FM) initiative with the George Graves Award for Facility Management Achievement and the Sheila Sheridan Award for Sustainable Facility Operations and Management, and creative projects/practices with the FM Innovation Award.

“This year’s award recipients reflect our profession’s range of expertise, as well as our global perspective and influence. They represent IFMA and FM on the world stage, demonstrating that ours is a community that views connection, cooperation, understanding and support between nations, industries and people as essential to making the world a better place,” said Mitchell.

IFMA’s 2022 Awards of Excellence Recipients

Distinguished Author Award: Research Paper
Kay Sargent, HOK

Distinguished Author Award: Book
“Work on the Move 3,” Michael Schley and Alexi Marmot

Chapter Award of Excellence in Professional Development
Greater Toronto & South Central Ontario Chapter of IFMA

Community Award of Excellence in Programs & Professional Development
Andrew Mawson (AWA) & Workplace Evolutionaries Community of Practice
Workplace Strategy and Leadership Program

Chapter Award of Excellence in Web Communications
2021-22 Communications Committee
Greater Triangle Chapter of IFMA

Emerging Professional Award
Charles Hammersla
Cushman & Wakefield

Associate Member Award
Casey Quisol

Facility Management Innovation Award
JLL’s Dynamic Cleaning Product Team
Work Dynamics & JLL Technologies

George Graves Award for Facility Management Achievement
Ayala Property Management Corporation’s Energy Management System

The Sheila Sheridan Award for Sustainable Facility Operations and Management
IBM Global Real Estate in Partnership with CBRE

Distinguished Member Award
Jenny Yeung
Hong Kong Chapter of IFMA

Student Chapter of the Year
Brigham Young University Student Chapter of IFMA

Chapter of the Year, Small Chapter
Wichita Chapter of IFMA

Chapter of the Year, Large Chapter
Denver Chapter of IFMA

IFMA Foundation Trustees Awards

Each year, the IFMA Foundation recognizes individuals and groups making a difference to students, professionals and local communities through inspired projects and programs.

IFMA Foundation Innovation Award
Joe Archie and Nancy Sanquist, IFMA Fellow

IFMA Foundation Global Workforce Initiative (GWI) Award
Chaffey College

IFMA Foundation Academic Contributor Award of the Year
Deniz Besiktepe

IFMA Foundation Chairman’s Award
Eric Teicholz, IFMA Fellow

Learn more about IFMA’s Awards of Excellence, including past winners, at awards.ifma.org/.