Home > What's New at IFMA? > IFMA announces 2021-22 global board of directors

IFMA announces 2021-22 global board of directors

Jul 01, 2021

IFMA is pleased to announce the member-elected executive committee and appointees to the global board of directors for the 2021-22 fiscal year (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022).

Due to the irregular circumstances presented by the COVID-19 pandemic, IFMA’s Nominating Committee recommended the executive committee (EC) of its global board of directors remain in office for an additional year. Members of the EC typically serve one-year terms; however, the committee’s objective in extending the EC’s term was to maintain stability heading into 2021-22 and minimize unnecessary risks.

Peter Ankerstjerne, MBA, COP, IFMA Fellow, Chief Strategy Officer for Planon Group will continue his term as board chair through June 30, 2022. Laurie A. Gilmer, P.E., CFM, SFP, LEED-AP, Vice President/COO of Facility Engineering Associates, P.C., will remain as first vice chair; and Dean Stanberry, CFM, LEED AP O+M, Chair, IFMA Government Affairs Committee will remain as second vice chair. To better reflect the scope of Don Gilpin’s responsibilities, his title has changed from president and COO to president and CEO.

“This is the first time in IFMA’s history that all three executive committee members will remain in office for another year. I believe it will be of great benefit to the association,” said IFMA President and CEO Don Gilpin. “With so many positive changes happening at IFMA — such as introducing our new mission and vision, unveiling a refreshed logo and brand, and broadening our educational offerings — we need that continuity in leadership. Peter, Laurie and Dean have brought us through one of our most challenging times. Their hands-on experience and deep knowledge of current projects and objectives will help us hit the ground running as we move forward.”

Newly appointed board members Cheryl R. Carron, Christa Dodoo, CMQ/OE, CFM, FMP, CIWFM, and Samson Lee will serve on IFMA’s global board of directors until 2024. These individuals bring a broad range of subject matter expertise to the organization, including integrated facility management, operations maintenance, capital projects management and strategic planning.

“I greatly appreciate our membership’s vote of confidence,” said Chair Peter Ankerstjerne. “The past year has been an unsettling time for all of us. Like many organizations worldwide, IFMA had to halt, delay or modify certain goals and projects as a result of the pandemic. I’m grateful that IFMA’s executive committee has been given another year in office. We look forward to implementing the strategic initiatives we intended to carry out before COVID-19 hit.”

Nominating Committee Chair John Carrillo, CFM, IFMA Fellow, who served as board chair from 2019 to 2020, will remain involved with the association as past chair.

2021-22 IFMA Global Board of Directors

2021-22 IFMA Global Board of Directors



Peter Ankerstjerne, MBA, COP, IFMA Fellow

Chief Strategy Officer, The Planon Group

Copenhagen, Denmark


First Vice Chair

Laurie A. Gilmer, P.E., CFM, SFP, LEED-AP

Vice President/COO, Facility Engineering Associates, P.C.

Santa Rosa, California, USA


Second Vice Chair

Dean Stanberry, CFM, LEED AP O+M

Chair, IFMA Government Affairs Committee

Denver, Colorado, USA



Don Gilpin

President and CEO

International Facility Management Association

Houston, Texas, USA


Past Chair

John Carrillo, CFM, IFMA Fellow


San Ramon, California, USA



Cheryl Carron

Global Head, Facilities Management & Experience Services Corporate Solutions, JLL

Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA


Christa Dodoo, CFM, FMP, CIWFM, CMQ/OE

Head of Facilities Management Services

United Nations World Food Programme

Rome, Italy


Jos Duchamps, MSc. Eng.

Managing Director, PROCOS Group

Antwerpen, Belgium


Hari Hegde

Senior Vice President Operations, Wipro Limited

Bangalore, Karnataka, India


Samson Lee

Chair of IFMA Asian Advisory Board

Hong Kong, China


Luis Morejon

SVP – Head of Corporate Real Estate Transformation, Operations and Delivery, Bank of the West

San Francisco, California, USA


Lorri Rowlandson

Global Senior Vice President, Strategy & Innovation, BGIS

Markham, ON, Canada


Colette Temmink, CFM, FRICS, CPM, CRE, MCR, SLCR

Chief Strategy and Product Officer, Blue Skyre, IBE (BSI)

San Francisco, California, USA


Mindy Williams-McElearney

Director, Turner & Townsend

New York, New York, USA


Learn more about IFMA’s global board of directors at ifma.org/about/leadership-staff/board-of-directors/global-board-of-directors/.