Join TodayBecome an IFMA member

Professional Development


International Credentials Commission (ICC)

As the official credentials body of IFMA, the ICC is dedicated to the establishment, maintenance and validation of professional standards for the facility management profession (FM).  


To ensure that the International Facility Management Association’s (IFMA) professional credentials are the premier recognition of achievement for the facility management professional worldwide.


To advance the profession of facility management worldwide by enhancing and sustaining the integrity and quality of IFMA credentials.


The International Credentials Commission (ICC) derives its authority and responsibility from the Bylaws of the International Facility Management Association, as amended July 12, 2011.

The International Credentials Commission shall be responsible for the independent oversight, development and operation of the association's credential programs, including certificate programs and certifications such as the Facility Management Professional (FMP®), the Sustainability Facility Professional® (SFP®), and the Certified Facility Manager® (CFM®). All policy decisions relating to credentialing matters shall be the sole decision of the International Credentials Commission and are not subject to approval by any other body. The International Credentials Commission shall be responsible for oversight of the job task analysis process, including the development of the competency statements which form the basis of the facility management body of knowledge.


Current ICC Members:

Commission Chair: Stephen J. Jones, CFM

James E. Loesch, PE, IFMA Fellow, CFM (Immediate Past Chair)

Dean Hitchcock, CFM 

Mark R. Sekula, IFMA Fellow, CFM, FMP 

Chris Hodges, P.E. IFMA Fellow, CFM, FMP, FRICS

Paul A Ratkovic, CFM, FMP 

Meredith Thatcher, IFMA Fellow, CFM, FMP 

David Wilson, CFM

Linda McBain Waters, CFM, SFP

Vaughn Halliday, FMP, PMP

Stephen Brown, CFM, FMP, SFP 

AnaMaria Mihuta, CFM, FMP 

Responsibilities of the ICC include:

  • Strategic planning, guidance and oversight of all activities related to IFMA credentials.
  • Providing coordination and oversight of Global Job Task Analysis process
  • Providing strategic direction for development of new credentials.
  • Oversight of the development of educational material derived directly from the competency areas defined in the job task analysis results.
  • Oversight of the Certified Facility Manager (CFM) program and any future certification programs
  • Development and oversight of all assessment-based certificate programs and related education curricula.
  • Oversight of the management system of the credentials organization
  • Monitoring, revising as needed and approving the Credentials Management Plans.
  • Ensuring compliance of accredited credentials programs to the appropriate standard
  • Serving as a sounding board for and responding to concerns and recommendations by stakeholders.
  • Making final determinations on certain credentials-related appeals and complaints.

View results from the most recent GJTA: GJTA Executive Summary


Scheme Committees

Each credential is governed by a scheme committee which reports to the ICC governing panel.

The scheme committees provide general program oversight, consult on content updates, process complaints and disputes, and develop and/or revise program policies and procedures.  

CFM Scheme Committee

CFM Scheme Committee Chair: Dean Hitchcock, CFM

Ted Cohen, CFM, MBA, MPA, PMP

Linda DeTienne, CFM, GRP, BOC

James Hilf, CFM

Erik A. Johansson, CFM, FMA

David King, CFM, SFP, AIA, LEED AP

Casey Martin, CFM, AIA

John Parsons, CFM

Gail Perry, CFM

Fred Weiss, IFMA Fellow, CFM


FMP Scheme Committee

FMP Scheme Committee ChairMark Sekula, IFMA Fellow, CFM, FMP

Robert Blakey, CFM, SFP, FMP, CEM, LEED 

Jerry DiCola, CFM, SFP, FMP, LEED GA

Stephen Galloway, CFM

Lesley Groff, CFM

John Huffman, CFM, FMA

Jeffrey Montgomery, CFM 

Kathryn Nelson, CFM

Bryan Neuhaus, CFM

Raphael Onovo, CFM, FMP

Donald Rogers, CFM


SFP Scheme Committee

SFP Scheme Committee Chair: Chris Hodges, P.E. IFMA Fellow, CFM, FMP, FRICS

Jeff Allcroft, CFM, SFP, CEM

Trudy Blight, CFM, SFP

Bill Conley, IFMA Fellow, CFM, SFP, FMP

Christine Karasek, CFM, SFP

Vic Reece, CFM, FMP, SFP

Ron Sachse, CFM, FMP, SFP, PMP

Erik Selvig, CFM, LEED AP

Doug Yon, SFP

Contact the ICC:

Individuals interested in learning more about the ICC or submitting an application for future participation in ICC activities should email Karina Elizondo at